Tuesday, 7 December 2010

If You Like... Reading (or Gift) Suggestions

My new Christmas endcap is "If you like... Try this!"

Basically it's suggested SFF gifts for people who like certain things and want a new (ish) book that their recipient may not have read yet.

Here's the list. I wanted to add extra suggestions for all of the categories but there's never enough time to do everything you'd like, so a few have a second book in brackets.

I'm following the photo of the endcap rather than alphabetizing in any way.

So, If you like... Try...

Strong Partners - The Sleeping God by Violette Malan (Swords of Heaven by Simon Green)
Hauntings - Geist by Phillippa Ballantine
Twisted Fairy Tales - The Stepsister Scheme by Jim Hines (Fairy Godmother by Mercedes Lackey)
Regency England - Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal (The Magicians and Mrs. Quent by Galen Beckett)
Thieves - Spirit Thief by Rachel Aaron (Master of None by Sonya Bateman)
Epic Fantasy - Lamentation by Ken Scholes
Swashbuckling Action - Triumff by Dan Abnett (Sword of Albion by Mark Chadbourn)
Private Eyes - Grave Witch by Kaylana Price (Sweet Silver Blues by Glen Cook)
Zombies - Deadtown by Nancy Holzner (Autumn by David Moody)
The Wild West - A Book of Tongues by Gemma Files
Scary Stories - Monstrous Affections by David Nickle
Old School Vampires - The Strain by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan
Plagues - Infected by Scott Sigler (The White Plague by Frank Herbert)
Assassins - Red-Headed Stepchild by Jaye Wells (The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks)
Fascinating Magic - The Warded Man by Peter Brett (Spellwright by Blake Charlton)
Elves and Guns - A Darkness Forged in Fire by Chris Evans
Steampunk - Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack by Mark Hodder (Flaming Zeppelins by Joe Lansdale)
Military SF - Carnifex by Tom Kratman
Space Terrorism - Mirrored Heavens by David Williams
The Internet - Wake by Robert Sawyer
SF Thrillers - State of Decay by James Knapp
Futuristic Cops - At Empire's Edge by William Dietz (Damage Time by Colin Harvey)
Exotic Locations - The Dervish House by Ian McDonald
Clones - Clone Republic by Stephen Kent
Rewriting History - Emperor by Stephen Baxter (Into the Storm by Taylor Anderson)
Visiting the Past - Blackout by Connie Willis
Gritty Fantasy - Best Served Cold by Joe Abercrombie
Political Intrigue - Adamantine Palace by Stephen Deas (King's Bastard by Rowena Cory Daniels)
Lyrical Writing - Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay (Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemisin)
Apocalyptic Fiction - Noise by Darin Bradley
Big Brother - Veracity by Laura Bynum (The Traveler by John Twelve Hawks)

If there's a category I missed that you want suggestions for, feel free to ask in the comments. Or, suggest your own books for the categories.

7 comments:

Rachel Aaron said...

I have to say, that looks amazing! I ESPECIALLY like the cheeky fellow on the top row!

Seeing this made my day, thanks for posting it!

- Rachel

Susan Gourley/Kelley said...

What a great list! Thanks for taking the time to create it and share it. I read a few of these and will have to look up those you partnered them with.

Jessica Strider said...

Thanks for the comments. :)

And Rachel, I have all 3 of your books on my "New Author's Endcap" a few shelves down from this one. They're a sharp looking set.

Grasping for the Wind said...

You know I think there is a meme in this somewhere. We ought to pass it around and see if other recommend something different.

Linda said...

Much appreciated from an SFF fan looking for good recommendations! Thanks so much.
Added the 2 "Thieves" books/authors to my Wish List! All excited now :)

Jessica Strider said...

Feel free to meme this. You might want to shorten the list of categories, as this took a fair bit of time to put together (mainly because I was trying for newer books people wouldn't be familiar with).

Anonymous said...

I'd like to add a category,Sentient Androids with Heart. And the book for that category would be The Stories of Ibis by Hiroshi Yamamoto. It is published by Haikasoru, A Nick Mamatas undertaking. This house has a large number of new offerings from the Japanese with great novels and stories and superb translators. I recommend you google Haikasoru and look at the offerings for yourself.