Friday, 14 December 2012

If You Like... Try... Reading List (x3)

This is my third year doing this reading list.  It's based on an endcap display I do for the bookstore where I work.  Basically I pick books (mostly) from this year that fit specific SF/F/H categories.  These aren't 'best of', they're more 'you may not have seen these', titles, including several smaller press books.  Similarly, some categories that I would have added (like Western Fantasy) aren't here as I've done separate displays for them.  Not all of them fit on the endcap at the same time, but I need extras for when books start selling out.  That's why you'll notice the written list has more books than the picture shows.  Oh, and I've increased the number of horror titles on the list.

Psychological SF - Janus by John Park
Apocalyptic Fiction - After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall by Nancy Kress
Alien Encounters - Ghost Planet by Sharon Lynn Fisher
Steampunk - Dead Iron by Devon Monk
Military SF - Bloodstar by Ian Douglas
Alternate History - Himmler's War by Robert Conroy
Terrorism - Genocidal Organ by Project Itoh
Biological Terrorism - Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers
Alternate Realities - Bullettime by Nick Mamatas
Robots - vN by Madeline Ashby
Crime Fiction With an SF Twist - The Man From Primrose Lane by James Renner
Energy Crisis - Energized by Edward Lerner
Thrillers - Blades of Winter by R. T. Almasi

Elizabethan Fantasy - Alchemist of Souls by Anne Lyle
Epic Fantasy - Besieged by Rowena Cory Daniells
Persian Inspired Fantasy - The Emperor's Knife by Mazarkis Williams
Medieval Fantasy - Between Two Fires by Christopher Buehlman
Secrets - House of Shadows by Rachel Neumeier
Gritty Fantasy - Seven Princes by John Fultz

Immortality - Enma the Immortal by Fumi Nakamura
Animal Stories - At the Mouth of the River of Bees by Kij Johnson
Scary Angels - Blood and Feathers by Lou Morgan
Werewolves - Silver by Rhiannon Held
Shapeshifters - In a Fix by Linda Grimes
Demon Law School - Dark Light of Day by Jill Archer
Native American Myths - Zadayi Red by Caleb Fox
Norse Gods - Thunder Road by Chadwick Ginther

Zombies - Devil's Wake by Steven Barnes & Tanarive Due
Witches - Thirteenth Sacrifice by Debbie Viguie
Classic Horror - Hell Train by Christopher Fowler
Scary Short Stories - The Monster's Corner edited by Christopher Golden
Horror Houses - Deadfall Hotel by Steve Rasnic Tem

1 comment:

Sharon Lynn Fisher said...

Thanks so much for including GHOST PLANET, and for posting the pic! I love seeing it in the wild. :)