Sunday, 31 July 2011

Science Fiction and Fantasy Events in Toronto, August 2011

These events are from the science fiction & fantasy calendar I run.  If you have an event that's not listed, email me ( and I'll put it on the calendar and add it here.  While I try to get the details correct, always check the links to confirm event information. I'll be updating this post as I learn of more events. 

Wednesday August 3

Ray Fawkes Book launch for Fawkes's new graphic novel, One Soul.
Where: , Lillian H Smith Library, 239 College
When: 7:30 pm
Admission: Free

Wednesday August 10

Chiaroscuro Reading Series: The Unholy Three
Where: The Augusta House (152 Augusta Avenue, Toronto)
When: 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

We're very proud to welcome some of the best new voices in dark fantasy and horror: the sultans of scare, the princes of panic, the grusome threesom...
Simon Strantzas is the author of the critically-acclaimed COLD TO THE TOUCH (Tartarus Press, 2009), a collection of thirteen tales of the strange and supernatural. His first collection, BENEATH THE SURFACE (reprinted by Dark Regions Press, 2010), has been called "one of the most important debut short story collections in the genre". Strantzas's stories have appeared in THE MAMMOTH BOOK OF BEST NEW HORROR, CEMETERY DANCE, and POSTSCRIPTS. In 2009, his work was nominated for the British Fantasy Award for Best Short Fiction. His third collection, NIGHTINGALE SONGS, is due for publication in 2011. He lives in Toronto, Canada, with his wife and an unyielding hunger for the flesh of the living. Please visit him at
Ian Rogers is a writer, artist, and photographer. His short fiction has appeared in several publications, including Cemetery Dance, Supernatural Tales, and On Spec. He is the author of the Felix Renn series of supernatural-noirs ("supernoirturals"), including "Temporary Monsters" and "The Ash Angels," from Burning Effigy Press. He is also the author of the Weird Western novella, "Deadstock," from Stonebunny Press. Ian's first book, a collection of dark fiction, is forthcoming from ChiZine Publications.
Richard Gavin has been lauded as a master of numinous horror fiction in the tradition of Algernon Blackwood and Arthur Machen. He has authored three collections: Charnel Wine (Rainfall Books, 2004), Omens (Mythos Books, 2007), and The Darkly Splendid Realm (Dark Regions Press, 2009), with a new volume in preparation. Richard has also penned criticism and various essays of arcanum. He lives in Ontario with his beloved wife and their brood. At Fear's Altar, the author's website, can be witnessed at

Friday August 12 - Saturday August 13

OSRCon: a gaming convention
Where: Merril Collection, 3rd Floor of Lillian H. Smith Library (239 College Street)
Cost: $20 before July 1, $25 afterward.
OSRCon is a two-day mini-convention for people interested in retro role-playing games (ie Dungeons & Dragons) created between 1975-1985. This event is co-sponsored by The Friends of the Merril Collection. A lecture and supporting display will take place in the Merril Collection reading room on the 3rd floor. Phone 416-393-7748 to register.

Sunday August 21

Space-Time Continuum:
Meet at Indigo (Bay & Bloor in the SF section) to see a movie

[No time given on their website]

Thursday August 25

Rue Morgue presents NEAR DARK 35mm Screening
Featuring star Lance Henriksen in person!

Where: Toronto Underground Cinema - 186 Spadina Ave., Toronto
When: 9:00 pm
Cost: Advance tickets $15

Rue Morgue presents a rare 35mm print screening of Kathryn Bigelow's NEAR DARK, including an exclusive question & answer session with star LANCE HENRIKSEN, hosted by TV personality Richard Crouse.

Thusday August 25 - Sunday August 28

Fan Expo Canada
Where: Metro Toronto Convention Centre, South Building (222 Bremner Blvd)
When: Thursday 2-9 pm, Friday 10-8, Saturday 10-8, Sunday 10-6
Cost: Varies based on days & pass types

Friday August 26 

Rue Morgue presents

Featuring Ghoultown

Where: The Courthouse - 57 Adelaide Street E.
When: 10:00 pm

Cost: FREE!

Festival of Fear Offsite Event! Rue Morgue presents its 8th Annual SHOCKTAIL PARTY featuring a performance from Texas gothabilly act GHOULTOWN and DJ Peter Black.

Saturday August 27

Rue Morgue and Daniloff Productions presents JOHN WATERS: THIS FILTHY WORLD Filthier and Dirtier! An intimate evening with the legendary JOHN WATERS.
Where: Toronto Underground Cinema - 186 Spadina Ave.
When: 7:00 pm
Cost: $35 door, $30 advance, $125 VIP Meet & Greet Ticket Package (Includes: Priority Admission, Reserved Seating, Post-event Meet & Greet reception with John Waters, Event poster autographed by John Waters)

Rue Morgue and Daniloff Productions present THIS FILTHY WORLD Filthier and Dirtier - An Intimate Evening with JOHN WATERS featuring Waters in his one-man "vaudeville" act celebrating the career and tastes of the man William Burroughs once called "The Pope of Trash." Focusing in on his early artistic influences and his fascination with true crime, exploitation films, fashion lunacy and the extremes of the contemporary art world, this joyously devious monologue elevates all that is trashy into a call to arms to Waters lovers everywhere.

Rue Morgue presents

The official party of the Rue Morgue Festival of Fear 2011.

Where: Revival Event Theatre - 783 College St.
When: 10:00 pm

Cost: $15 door/$10 advance
Rue Morgue presents NIGHT TERRORS - Official Party of the 2011 Festival of Fear featuring a Midnight Costume Contest hosted by TOM SAVINI and others along with the hypnotic sounds of Witch Rock pioneers BLOOD CEREMONY. Plus! Terror tunes form Rue Morgue Radio's Tomb Dragomir, Oz and LaMort.

No comments: