Thursday, 8 December 2011

If You Like... Try This... Reading List (x2)

This was a popular reading list last year so I've redone it.  Some categories have several books, as those topics were popular and I want options for those of you who have read one of the books already and are looking for more.  For the most part, these are books that came out this year (there are a few exceptions).  This is a current display.  I picked books at random for the display, with the other books listed here as backups in the happy event that the first books sell down and need replacing.  Similarly, not all of the categories are on the endcap, I did a few extras just in case.
So, if you like... then try...

Time Travel - 11/23/63 by Stephen King, The Revisionists by Thomas Mullen, Theft of Swords by Michael Sullivan
Aztecs - Servant of the Underworld by Aliette de Bodard
Witches - The Thirteen by Susie Moloney
The Promise of Immortality - Postmortal by Drew Magary
Evil Fairies - Dead on the Delta by Stacey Jay
Thieves - Among Thieves by Douglas Hulick, Den of Thieves by David Chandler,
Gritty Fantasy - Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

Magic and Wine - Flesh and Fire by Laura Anne Gilman
Circuses - Mechanique by Genevieve Valentine, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Military SF - Germline by T. C. McCarthy, Ragnarok by Patrick Vanner, Veteran by Gavin Smith
Epic Fantasy - The Dragon's Path by Daniel Abraham, Farlander by Col Buchanan, The Emperor's Knife by Mazarkis Williams
Zombie P.I.s - Dead Mann Walking by Stefan Petrucha
Ghosts - Esperanza by Trish MacGregor, Soul Trapper by F. J. Lennon
Angels - Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin

Werewolves - The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan
Griffins - The Griffin Mage Trilogy by Rachel Neumeier, The Dark Griffin by K. J. Taylor
Steampunk - The Falling Mchine by Andrew Mayer
Oscar Wilde - All Men of Genius by Lev A. C. Rosen

The Wild West - Bloodlands by Christine Cody
Vampires - Enter, Night by Michael Rowe, Redlaw by James Lovegrove, Blood Rights by Kristen Painter
Historical Horror - Eutopia by David Nickle

Humorous Horror - John Dies at the End by David Wong
Apocalyptic Fiction - Soft Apocalypse by Will McIntosh
The Gods - Blackdog by K. V. Johansen

Martial Arts - White Tiger by Kylie Chan
Street Gangs - King Maker by Maurice Broaddus

Real Magic - Mistification by Kaaren Warren
Virtual Reality Games - The Restoration Game by Ken MacLeod, Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Books Based on Video Games - Assassin's Creed: Renaissance by Oliver Bowden, The Infernal City: An Elder Scrolls Novel by Greg Keyes, Halo: Cryptum by Greg Bear, Dead Island by Mark Morris
Robots - Robopocalypse by Daniel Wilson
A.I.s - Reality 36 by Guy Haley
Psychics - Mind Storm by K. M. Ruiz
Precognition - Pattern Scars by Caitlin Sweet, A Solder's Duty by Jean Johnson
Superheroes - After the Golden Age by Carrie Vaughan
Zombies - Allison Hewitt is Trapped by Madeleine Roux

3 comments:

Fantasy Nibbles said...

This is great, thanks!

Susan Gourley/Kelley said...

I love your lists! Thanks. I scribbled some suggestions in my overflowing little book.

lindapoitevin said...

Huge thanks for placing SINS OF THE ANGELS in this display, Jessica -- SO exciting to see it there! :)